Medical Council indicts three doctors over Peju’s death


Three medical doctors will face a disciplinary committee of the Medical and Dental Practitioners Council of Nigeria for professional misconduct in the death of celebrity chef Adepeju Ugboma.

The three doctors – Akiseku Adeniyi Kazeem, Kelechi Kingsley Renner and Motunrayo Amadu, all of Premier Specialist Hospital, Lagos.


The indictment was the outcome of an investigative panel set up by the Council to consider a petition by Mr Ijoma Ugboma, the husband of the deceased.


The panel reached the decision at its just-concluded 10th session, which held on October 28, 2021. It published its report in a November 1 letter to Mr Ugboma, seen by The Nation on Wednesday.


The letter was signed by the Council’s secretary, Dr E. D. Abudu.


Olisa Agbakoba Legal, lead counsel to the Ugboma family, represented the Petitioner at the Panel.


OAL also requested a coroner’s Inquest into the death of Mrs Ugboma to investigate her family’s allegations of medical negligence against Premier Specialist Medical Centre.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE:  Thousands of Civil Servants Protest New Tax in Burkina Faso

The Inquest is ongoing at the Magistrate Court Ogba, Lagos.

Mrs Ugboma, 41, died at 3pm on April 25, 2021, at Evercare Hospital Lekki Ltd, (Evercare).

She was the founder and Chief Executive Officer, of a pastry company, I Luv Desserts.

The Medical and Dental Practitioners Council of Nigeria letter to Mr Ugboma reads:

“The Medical and Dental Practitioners’ Investigation Panel at its 10th session held at the Council Chambers, Medical and Dental Council House, Plot 1102 Cadastral Zone B11, Kaura District, Abuja on Thursday, 28th October 2021 investigated your petition.

“The investigation is concluded. The Panel determined that a prima facie case of misconduct in a professional respect is established against Dr. Akiseku Adenlyi Kazeem, Or. Kelechi Kingsley Renner and Dr. Motunrayo Amadu.

“The three (3) respondent doctors have been referred to the Medical and Dental Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal  for adjudication.

“The Panel did not establish any prima facie case of misconduct against the following: i. Dr. Chineze Maureen Fadipe ii. Dr. Ayoola Sikiru Shonibare ii. Or. Nosakhare Asemota iv. Dr. Uchenna lwuh v. Dr. Oshinowo Omotulu vi. Dr. Alao Olumide vii. Dr. Oyewole Olugbenga Olayide vii. Dr. Shola Johnson ix. Dr. Muyideen Olayemi Orolu x. Dr. Victor Ayanwale Raji xi. Dr. Opeyemi Abe xii. Dr. Rufus Ojewola xii. Dr. Ekido Okpiabhele xiv. Dr. Ogukah Amarachi xv. Or. Onaga Zita xvi. Dr. Chioma J Orjiakor and xvii. Or Blessing Ugwuagbo.”

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE:  G7 Leaders tackle China, Covid-19 and Climate

 7 total views,  2 views today