Kogi CJ, Ajanah, dies of COVID-19

The Chief Judge of Kogi State, Nasiru Ajanah has passed on aged 64.

It was alleged that the late jurist died of COVID-19 complications at the Abuja isolation centre.

His death is coming exactly a week after the state lost the President of the Customary Court of Appeal, Justice Ibrahim Shaibu Atadoga after a brief illness.

Kogi State Commissioner for Information, Kingsley Fanwo announced the death of the judge.

‘‘The Kogi State Government wishes to announce the demise of Hon. Justice Nasir Ajana. Until his death, Nasir Ajana was the Chief Judge of Kogi State.

“The passing of the legal luminary is a massive blow to the government and people of Kogi State for his brilliant justice administration throughout his career as a judge and his tenure as the Chief Judge of Kogi State.

‘‘He will be sorely missed for his tenacity of purpose and outstanding commitment to the sanctity of the temple of justice. He was a colossus in the noble profession of law. The state government will work with the family of the late chief justice to give him a befitting burial. His shoes will be impossible to fill,” said the statement.

Although the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control has so far announced three cases of COVID-19 in Kogi, the state government has insisted that the state is free of the disease.

Ajanah was born in 1956 to the family of MJ Fari Ajanah in Okene Local Government Area and studied law at the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria.

He set up his private firm, Nasiru Ajanah & Co in Okene, where he practiced law between 1985 and 1989.

He served in various capacities such as chairman, Kabba Disturbance Tribunal, Kogi, (1994); chairman, Election Petitions Tribunal in Adamawa State (1998); member of the governing council of the Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies (1999 and 2006) and chairman, Panel on Murtala Mohammed International Airport Fire Incident (2000).

Ajanah, whose remains will be buried in Abuja on Sunday, served as chairman, Election Petitions Tribunal in Akwa Ibom State (2007) and chairman, Election Tribunal Petitions in Rivers State (2008).

Open chat