Obaseki wins Edo Governorship election

Incumbent Edo Governor, Godwin Obaseki has clearly won the governorship election held yesterday. The final result announced by INEC gave the two leading parties the votes as:

APC – 223,619
PDP – 307,955

The governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress in the Edo State Election, Osagie Ize-Iyamu, was also defeated by the main opponent and the incumbent Governor Godwin-Austen Obaseki in his local government, Orhiomwon.

The Independent National Electoral Commission announced that Ize-Iyamu of the APC polled 10,458 votes while Obaseki, who is the candidate of the PDP got 13,445 votes in Orhiomwon.

Ize-Iyamu hails from Iguododo in Orhionmwon Local Government Area of the state.Earlier, the running mate of the Peoples Democratic Party candidate in the Edo governorship election, Philip Shaibu, lost the election in his local government, Etsako west, to the APC.

Open chat