GOCOP elects new exco, admits new members


The Publisher of Realnews, Maureen Chigbo has emerged as the new president of the Guild of Corporate Online Publishers, GOCOP, for the next two years.

She takes over from the publisher of The Eagle Online Mr. Dotun Oladipo after he served out two terms.

Chigbo was elected the fourth President of GOCOP alongside 14 others as the new set of Executive Committee at the Annual General Meeting of the Guild in Lagos.

Also elected were Mr Danlami Nmodu, mni as the Deputy President, Mr Ken Ugbechie as Vice President, South; Mr Tom Chaiheman emerged Vice President, North; Mr Collins Edomaruse as General Secretary, Mr Olumide Iyanda as Deputy Secretary-General; Remmy Nweke as Publicity Secretary, Azuh Arinze as Financial Secretary, whereas Mrs Yemisi Izuora emerged the Treasurer.

Max Amuchie, Horatius Egua, James Ume; Akeem Oyetunji; Raymond Ukaegbu and Tony Edike were elected Zonal Coordinators for the North Central; North East, North West, South West, South-South and South East, respectively.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE:  Britain hold crisis meeting over COVID-19 travel ban

Meanwhile, the Guild has admitted new members into its fold with the induction of 21 new members at its fifth annual conference.

The Conference was chaired by the governor of Lagos State, Mr. Babajide Sanwo-Olu, while the keynote speaker was the Secretary to the Government of the Federation and Chairman, Presidential Steering Committee on COVID-19, Boss Mustapha.

The SGF, represented by the Executive Director, National Primary Healthcare Development Agency, NPHCDA, Dr. Faisal Shuaib, spoke on the theme “Post COVID-19 Pandemic: Recovery and Reconstruction in Nigeria.”

The new members of GOCOP inducted at the occasion include Mr. Toni Kan, publisher, thisislagos.ng; Dele Fashomi, Editor-in-Chief, IQ4 Media Ltd, Sir Folu Olamiti, Publisher, Newspot; Ignatius Chukwu, Editor-in-chief, SILVER NEWS Online; Victoria Ibanga, Editor-in-Chief, The Next Edition; Ayo Olesin, Editor-in-Chief, The NewsMatrics; Rose Moses, Editor-in-Chief, Newsmart; Dipo Kehinde, Publisher, NewsmakersNG; Joan Chioma Obinagwam, publisher/Editor-in-chief of Confiance News and Biodun Durojaiye, Editor-in-Chief, The Lagos Times.

Others include Tajudeen Abdulkareem, Editor-in-Chief, Credible News; Sakibu Olokojobi, Editor-In-Chief, FrontPage; Dumebi Ifeanyi Chukwu, Publisher, POLITICS NIGERIA; Oluwadare Mayowa, Editor-in-Chief, Global Financial Digest; Shola Oshunkeye, President /CEO of The Crest; Muhammad Danjuma Katsina, publisher, Katsina city News; Olumide Bajulaiye, Editor-in-Chief, Daily Dispatch Newspaper and Hassan Gimba, Publisher/Editor-in-Chief, Neptune Prime.

YOU MAY ALSO LIKE:  Togo President Gnassingbe wins fourth term, as rival claims fraud

Also inducted were Celestine Okafor, Dr. Iseoluwa Ige, and Francis Chukwudi.

Speaking at the occasion, the new president of the GOCOP, Maureen Chigbo, restated the group’s commitment to professionalism, integrity, national development and capacity building.

GOCOP is also primed to promote the advancement of journalism as a profession and economic wellbeing of members.