Buhari tags railway stations with Nigerian names

President Muhammadu Buhari has named train stations along the Lagos-Ibadan and Itakpe-Ajaokuta-Warri corridors after “deserving Nigerians.”

A statement released by the Federal Ministry of Transportation said “the deserving citizens have contributed to the progress and development of their respective communities and the nation at large.”

The stations along the Lagos-Ibadan corridor were named after Vice President Yemi Osinbajo (Kajola Station), Bola Ahmed Tinubu (Apapa station), while the Agege station was named Babatunde Fashola station.

Other personalities honoured include Lateef Jakande (Agbado station), Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Papalanto station), Mobolaji Johnson (Ebute Metta Station), Prof. Wole Soyinka (Abeokuta station), Aremo Segun Osoba (Olodo station).

Others are the Chief Ladoka Akintola (Omio-Adio station), Chief Obafemi Awolowo (Ibadan station), Chief Alex Ekwueme (Operation Control Centre)

For the Itakpe-Ajaokuta/Aladja-Warri Railway, the president approved the renaming of the corridors as Alhaji Adamu Attah (Itakpe station), Dr. Olushola Saraki (Ajaokuta station), Admiral Augustus Aikhomu (Itogbo station), Brigadier-General George Innih (Agenebode station), Anthony Eromosele Enahoro (Uromi station).

Others are Chief Tom Ikimi (Ekehen station), Brigadier-General Samuel Osaigbovo Ogbemudia (rtd) (Igbanke station), Goodluck Ebele Jonathan (Agbor Station Complex), Brigadier-General David Ejoor (Abraka station), Micheal Ibru (Opara station), Alfred Rewane (Ujevwu station) and Vice Admiral Mike Akhigbe (Railway Village, Agbor).

It would be recalled that in June, President Buhari had approved the naming of the Railway Complex in Agbor – the operational hub of the Itakpe-Warri line – after former President Goodluck Jonathan.

Open chat