Buhari arrests drift in APC, sacks NWC

The National Executive Committee, NEC, of the All Progressives Congress, APC, has ratified Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu as its governorship candidate in Edo State.

Addressing State House correspondents after the NEC meeting, the Chairman of the Progressive Governors’ Forum and governor of Kebbi State, Alhaji Atiku Bagudu, said after deliberations, NEC decided to dissolve the National Working Committee, NWC, and appoint a caretaker committee in its stead.

He said members of the committee are Governor Mai Mala Buni of Yobe State as Chairman, Governor Isiaka Oyetola of Osun State (representing the South-West), Ken Nnamani (South-East), Stella Okorete representing the women, Governor Abubakar Sani-Bello (North-Central), Dr. James Lalu (physically challenged)

Others are Senator Abubakar Yusuf (representing the Senate), Akinyemi Olaide (Reps), David Lyon (South-South), Abba Ari (North-West), Prof. Tahir Mamman (North-East), Ismail Ahmed (youth) while Sen. Akpan Udoedehe will serve as Secretary.

He said Buni was appointed, following the recommendation of President Muhammadu Buhari that the National Working Committee be dissolved. He will oversee the affairs of the party for six months.

Bagudu also disclosed that President Muhammadu Buhari has ordered that all ongoing litigations in connection with the leadership crisis be withdrawn from the court.

Following his appointment, the Attorney-General of the Federation, Abubakar Malami (SAN), inaugurated the Yobe State governor as the Chairman of the APC Caretaker Committee/Extraordinary Convention Committee.

The meeting, which started at noon, at the Executive Council Chambers of the State House, Abuja, was attended by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, the Senate President, Ahmed Lawan, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, governors of Nasarawa, Niger, Jigawa, Plateau, Imo, Kogi, Yobe, Gombe, Osun, Ogun, Lagos, Kwara, Kebbi, Kano, Kaduna and Ekiti, as well as some national and state party executive members.

It would be recalled that the APC had been thrown into leadership crisis, following the suspension of Comrade Adams Oshiohmole as the National Chairman and the endorsement of Victor Giadom as the Acting National Chairman for two weeks by a court.

However, majority of the National Working Committee members appointed the ailing Deputy National Chairman, South, Sen. Abiola Ajimobi, as the Acting National Chairman.

The National Vice Chairman, South South, Hilliard Eta, was subsequently appointed to act on his behalf.

Despite his suspension by two Port Harcourt courts and his replacement as the deputy national secretary, Giadom had on Tuesday issued a notice of the APC NEC meeting which held on Thursday.

Open chat