Edo State lawmakers suspend three members over impeachment plot

The Edo House of Assembly on Monday suspended three lawmakers over alleged plot to impeach the Speaker and other Principal Officers.

The Speaker, Mr. Blessing Agbebaku, announced the suspension at resumption of plenary in Benin, alleging that Donald Okogbe, PDP Akoko-Edo11, Bright Iyamu, PDP- Orihonmwon South and Adeh Isibor, PDP- Esan North East 1, were being used by some external forces to cause chaos and remove the leadership of the House.

READ ALSO: Edo Assembly impeaches Deputy Gov. Shaibu on ground of misconduct

The pronouncement led to rowdy situation at the House as the lawmakers tried to challenge their suspension.

“Mr speaker, you don’t have the right to unilaterally suspend any member of the house.

“You must call for votes. Allow members vote on the matter,” lawmakers contested.

The Speaker, thereafter adjourned plenary abruptly.

Credible News.ng

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *