Alcaraz defends Indian Wells title, claims second consecutive victory over Medvedev

For the second consecutive year, Carlos Alcaraz and Daniil Medvedev faced off for the BNP Paribas Open title at Indian Wells. Once again, Alcaraz emerged victorious, claiming the trophy for the second year in a row.

In a tighter match compared to last year’s encounter, Alcaraz claimed victory in straight sets, overcoming an early 3-0 deficit to defeat the Russian, 7-6 (5), 6-1, and secure the championship. With this win, Alcaraz achieved several milestones: he became the first man in eight years to successfully defend an Indian Wells title. The last player to accomplish this feat was Novak Djokovic, who achieved it in three consecutive years from 2014 to 2016.

READ ALSO : Swiatek secures second Indian Wells title with dominant victory over Sakkari

Alcaraz’s victory also marks another significant achievement—he becomes only the second man ever to win five Masters 1000 titles before turning 21. Joining the ranks of his compatriot Rafael Nadal, who won nine such titles before reaching the age of 21, Alcaraz’s accomplishment is indeed remarkable.

This win also ends his title drought since Wimbledon, marking a return to the winner’s circle after several strong performances, including a final in Cincinnati and four semifinal appearances, including those at the US Open and ATP Finals.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *