Sportsville Special Recognition Awards honor sports icons

Former Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Sunday Dare, Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State, and Senator Orji Kalu were honored on Friday for their significant contributions to sports development in Nigeria.

Credible News reports that the fourth Sportsville Special Recognition Awards took place at the Eko Club in Surulere, Lagos. During the event, notable sports personalities were honored for their significant contributions to the development of sports in Nigeria.

Minister Sunday Dare was recognized as the ‘Sports Administrator of the Year’ for his exemplary leadership in sports administration. Additionally, Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State received an award for his role in establishing a modern sports complex, the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, in Benin City.

Furthermore, special recognition awards were presented to Kalu and Olusegun Runsewe, the President of the Nigeria Golf Federation, NGF,  for their outstanding achievements and contributions to sports in the country.

The list of awardees at the Sportsville Special Recognition Awards also includes prominent figures such as Mr. Gbenga Elegbeleye, Chairman of the Nigeria Premier Football League, NPFL; Victor Ochei, former Delta commissioner for sports; Chief Solomon Ogba; and Igoche Mark.

READ ALSO:Mbappe seeks advise from Ramos before Real Madrid transfer deal

Additionally, Eddington Kuejubola, a former coordinator of the Super Eagles, and Mr. Kunle Solaja, a renowned sports journalist and FIFA-recognized World Cup attendee, received special recognition awards for their significant contributions to sports.


Sam Ochebo, President of the Handball Federation, was honored for his remarkable achievements in the development of handball in Nigeria.


Hajiya Zainab Saleh was recognized for her pioneering efforts in promoting women’s participation in Karate in Nigeria. Mrs. Hauwa-Kulu Akinyemi, a retired director, was acknowledged for her excellence in sports administration at the Federal Ministry of Sports.

At the Sportsville Special Recognition Awards, Uyi Akpata, President of the Nigeria Cricket Federation, was honored for his dedication to promoting the growth of cricket in Nigeria. Francis Orbih, President of the Badminton Federation of Nigeria, as well as Jenkins Alumona and Chikelue Iloenyosi, were also recognized for their contributions in their respective fields.


Oladimeji Oshode received the ‘Media Officer of the Year’ award for his outstanding work in sports media.


A posthumous award was given to the late Sebastian Brodricks in recognition of his contributions to sports.


Segun Odegbami, Chairman and Head of the Local Organizing Committee, highlighted the significance of the awards in acknowledging the individuals who have played pivotal roles in the development of sports in Nigeria.

“This is an opportunity today to recall bits and pieces of our history, particularly the most successful sides.


“Those that received the honours are the ones who have made significant contributions to sports development in Nigeria either in corporate organisations or individually.


“This is a good opportunity for us to recall that history, those who have performed excellently, so I am delighted to be part of this history.


“The award that I also received was a big surprise for me, though not as a footballer or journalist, but as a chairman of the event,” he said.


In his response, Dare said that he foresees a great future for Nigerian sports given the foundation he had laid while he was the minister.


Also, Akpata said that he would continue to lay a solid foundation for cricket in Nigeria.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *