INEC declares APC’s Ehindero winner of Ondo by-election

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared the All Progressives Congress, APC, candidate, Mr Ifeoluwa Ehindero, winner of the Akoko North-East and Akoko North-West Federal constituency by-election in Ondo State.

The Returning Officer of the election, Prof. Johnson Fasinmirin of the Federal University of Technology, Akure, declared Ehindero winner after the counting of votes at the collation centre at Victory College, Ikare-Akoko on Saturday.
Fasinmirin noted that the APC candidate polled 35,504 votes to defeat his closest rival, Mr Olalekan Bada of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, who polled 15,328 votes.
The Returning Officer said that total votes cast were 51,896 with valid votes cast being 51,341 while 555 votes were rejected.
“I, Fasinmirin Johnson, hereby certify that I am the Returning Officer for the 2024 Akoko North-East and Akoko North-West Federal Constituency By-election held on Feb. 3.
“The election was contested and Ehindero Ifeoluwa Babajide of APC polled 35,504 while Bada Olalekan Oladapo scored 15,328.
“That Ehindero Ifeoluwa Babajide of APC having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared the winner and return elected”, he said.


INEC declares APC candidate winner of Surulere by-election

Credible news reports that Ehindero defeated Bada with 20,176 votes to emerge winner while African Democratic Congress, ADC, candidate, Ishmail Adeshina with 213 votes came third.
The Akoko North-East and Akoko North-West Federal constituency seat became vacant following the resignation of Mr Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo, who was appointed Minister of Interior by President Bola Tinubu.
Candidates of eight political parties who contested for the vacant seat to represent the Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives are: ADC, APC, APGA, PDP, NNPP, APP, SDP and LP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *