FG allocates N13.8 Billion for upkeep of former presidents, vice, and retired officials in 2024 budget

In the 2024 fiscal year, the President Bola Tinubu-led federal government has allocated the sum of N13.8 billion for the upkeep of former presidents Muhammadu Buhari, Goodluck Jonathan, and Olusegun Obasanjo.

This budget also extends to cover former vice presidents Yemi Osinbajo, Namadi Sambo, and Atiku Abubakar.

The allocation is designed to cater for the maintenance of heads of state, chiefs of general staff, retired heads of service, permanent secretaries, as well as retired heads of government agencies and parastatals.

Notable figures expected to benefit from this allocation include ex-military Heads of State General Yakubu Gowon, General Abdusalami Abubakar, former military President General Ibrahim Babangida, and former Chief of General Staff Commodore Ebitu Ukiwe (retd.).

A significant portion of the budget, N1 trillion, is earmarked for public service wage adjustment for government Ministries, Departments, and Agencies. This includes arrears of promotion and salary increases, as well as payment of severance benefits and minimum wage-related adjustments.

Breaking down the allocation, N2.3 billion is set aside for the entitlements of former presidents/heads of states and vice-presidents/chief of general staff, while N10.5 billion is proposed for benefits for retired heads of service, permanent secretaries, and professors.

Additionally, N1 billion is allocated for the payment of severance benefits to retired heads of government agencies and parastatals.

Other notable allocations in the 2024 budget include N65 billion for the Presidential Amnesty Programme aimed at the reintegration of transformed ex-militants, N1 billion for the Office of the Presidential Adviser on Energy, and N108 billion for unnamed special projects.

The budget details indicate a significant financial commitment to the welfare and support of former top government officials and special programs.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *