PSC orders four DIGs to retire

The Police Service Commission, PSC, has ordered four Deputy Inspector-Generals, DIGs, of Police to proceed on compulsory retirement.

The affected senior police officers are Dan-Mallam Mohammed, Moses Ambakina Jitiboh, Hafiz Mohammed Inuwa and Adeleke Adeyinka Bode.

PSC Spokesman, Ikechukwu Ani said on Monday that the commission gave the order in the exercise of its statutory powers, pursuant to the Third Schedule, Part 1 M, para A&B of the 1999 Constitution, reinforced with Section 6 of the Commissions Establisment; Act 2001, para a, c, d, e, & f.

Ani explained that the order became imperative because PSC had expected those DIGs who were seniors in rank prior to the acting IGP, Kayode Egbetokun, to voluntarily retire.

The PSC spokesman said such expected application was in consonance with the revered tradition of discipline and regimented culture of the Nigeria Police Force.

“In the wake of the appointment of the acting Inspector-General of Police, IGP Kayode Egbetokun on the 19th of June, 2023 by Mr. President, the Commission had expected in consonance with the revered tradition of discipline and regimented culture of the Nigeria Police Force that those DIGS who were seniors in rank prior to his elevation will voluntarily apply for retirement or elect to leave the Force.

“The Commission, having waited for ample time with no such application from any of them, took the decision to compulsorily retire them in order to uphold discipline which is the bedrock of the Force, and to discourage status reversal which is inherently inimical to the exercise of authority by the Inspector General”, Ani stated.

The PSC, however, approved the appointment of four Assistant Inspectors-General of Police to the rank of DIGs which would be subjected to ratification by the board of the commission to replace the retired DIGs.

Ani disclosed that the newly appointed DIGs who are without Pending Disciplinary Matters and/or without any serious medical conditions as well as health impairments were drawn from the same respective geo-political regions of the retired ones.

The new DIGs are Ibrahim Sani Ka’oje, Daniel Sokari – Pedro, Ayuba Ekpeji and Usman Nagogo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *