Senate confirms appointment of Chief of Defence Staff, Service Chiefs

The Senate Thursday confirmed the appointment of Chief of Defence Staff and Service Chiefs appointed by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

The top security Chiefs that were confirmed are Major General Christopher Musa as Chief of Defence Staff; Major General T.A. Lagbaja as Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ogalla as Chief Naval Staff and Air Vice Marshal H. B. Abubakar as Chief of Air Staff.

Prior to the confirmation, the Service Chiefs were in a closed door session with the Senators, where they were engaged from 12.42pm to 2.59pm.

The Service Chiefs arrived the National Assembly Complex at about 10.00am for an appointment that was slated for 11.00am and remained outside the Chamber until the President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio acknowledged their presence during the plenary.

After their presence were acknowledged through a motion moved by the Senate Leader, Senator Michael Bamidele Opeyemi, Akpabio suspended Order 60 in the Senate Standing Orders, 2022, as Amended, to enable the Chamber attend to them.

Opeyemi said: “That the Senate do consider the request of Mr. President and Commander-in -Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria on the confirmation of the nomination of Service Chiefs”.

The Senior Special Assistant to Tinubu on National Assembly Matters, Senate, Senator Abdullahi Gumel then ushered the Service Chiefs to the hallowed chamber.

Thereafter, the visitors to the Senate were given two minutes each to introduce themselves before the Chamber dissolved into a Committee behind closed doors at 12. 42pm.

Credible News recalls that the President had on Tuesday written the Senate, seeking for the screening and subsequent confirmation of the new Chief of Defence Staff and service chiefs.

The request was contained in a letter addressed to the President of the Senate who read the letter during Plenary, adding that the request was in line with the Act establishing the Armed Forces.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *