Police appoints eight CPs, two of them women

The Police Service Commission, PSC, has commended the Acting Inspector-General of Police, Mr Olukayode Egbetokun for being gender sensitive in the appointment of eight  new commssioners of police.
Mr Ikechukwu Ani, the PSC Spokesman, said in a statement on Friday in Abuja that the recommendation for the appointment and deployment of eight Commissioners of Police was fair.
Ani said the commission however reminded the I-G to ensure balanced representation of all zones in subsequent deployments.
He said that the North East and South East geopolitical zones were not appropriately represented in senior police appointments and deployments.
He said that the Police Force was yet to ensure that the two zones meet the benchmark of 15 per cent  representation, as ordered by the commission at its last plenary meeting.
The PSC spokesman said in spite of that, the commission approved the appointment and deployment of the eight CPs as requested by the I-G.
Those appointed CPs are Godwin Aghaulor, posted to Borno; Adelesi Oluwarotimi, Kwara; Adebola Hamzat, Oyo State; Augustina Ogbodo, Ebonyi, and Samuel Musa, Kebbi.
Others are Aderemi Adeoye, Anambra; Stephen Olarewaju, Imo and Alamatu Mustapha, Ogun.
Ani disclosed that PSC Chairman, Dr Solomon Arase said the postings as recommended by the acting I-G was fair, recognising the inclusion of women.
Arase urged I-G to consider the disadvantaged geo-political zones while forwarding subsequent  proposals for the commission’s ratification.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *