Home News APC set to upset PDP in Bayelsa

APC set to upset PDP in Bayelsa

by CredibleNews

History is about to be made in Bayelsa State as the All Progressives Congress, APC, is set to win the governorship seat for the fisrt time since 1999.

Exit poll results late last night is in favour of Mr. David Lyon, who  is on course to win the governorship election.

In the results announced so far at the collation centre in Yenagoa, Mr Lyon has won in four of the six local governments.

Bayelsa State has eight local government areas, namely Brass, Ekeremo, Kolokuma/Opokuma, Nembe, Ogbia, Sagbama, Southern Ijaw and Yenagoa.

Results of the six local government announced so far include Brass, Kolokuma, Nembe, Ogbia, Sagbama and Yenagoa, leaving  Southern Ijaw, the stronghold of the APC candidate and Ekeremo to wrap up victory.

In the results collated so far, Mr Lyon defeated Duoye Diri, his closest rival and governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in Nembe by polling 83,041 votes. Mr Diri, on his part, polled 874.

In Brass, the APC candidate polled 23,831 while the PDP candidate polled 10, 410.

In Kolokuma/Opokuma, the APC had 8,934 votes while the PDP had 15,360.

In Sagbama, Diri polled 60,339 votes to beat Lyon who polled 7,831.

In Ogbia, the PDP polled 13,763 while the APC polled 58,016 votes.

In Yenagoa, the APC candidate polled 24,607 while the PDP polled 19,184 votes.

Results from Ekeremo and Lyon’s own major stronghold and LGA, Southern Ijaw, are being awaited as collation officials announced an hour in Yenagoa.

0 comment

Related Posts