Home Development Northern Govs. moot stabilization fund

Northern Govs. moot stabilization fund

by CredibleNews

Worried by negative pangs of poverty and insecurity, the 19 governors in Northern Nigeria have mooted an economc stabilisation fund and a security architecture for the region.

Rising from an extra-ordinary meeting in Kaduna, they adopted a N6 billion economic recovery plan and raised a security committee to proffer solution to the security challeges iravaging most northern states.

Governor Kassim Shettima of Borno State, who is the outgoing chairman of the forum,  in a communique after the meeting, said the forum picked Governor Simon Lalong of Plateau State as its new Chairman, while Governor Aminu Bello Masari of Katsina State will head its committee on security challeges in the region.

“The Northern States Governors’ Forum convened a meeting to deliberate on the major issues affecting the northern states and the Nations at large, particularly the current challenges of insecurity which seem to be deteriorating, despite concerted efforts by the federal and state governments.

“The forum deliberated extensively on the nature of insecurity currently bedeviling the region and various ways and means of dealing with the situation.

“In order to tackle the challenges holistically in an all-encompassing manner, the forum set up a committee under the chairmanship the Governor of Katsina State, Alhaji Aminu Bello Masari, to inter-alia develop a comprehensive regional plan of action that could bring lasting solutions to the lingering crises.

“The committee, as part of its mandate would seek audience with Mr. President and make adequate presentation to him on the true nature of the security challenges,” Shettima said.

The committee is also expected to make suggestion based on insightful analysis and assessment of the situation on the best possible ways to solve the incessant problems.

The forum also appointed a committee headed by Governor Badaru Abubakar of Jigawa State to study the current structure as well as, mission and vision of the New Nigeria Development Company Limited (NNDC).

He said the committee would evolve a roadmap on how best to resuscitate and re-invigorate the company towards the realisation of its pre-set goals and objectives.

“Membership of the committee include Niger State Governor, Alh Abubakar Bello, Shamsudeen Usman, Ibrahim Ali, Bello Maccido, Ambrose Feese, MK. Ahmed and Abdullahi A. Sule.

“The forum after due consideration and wide consultations resolved to appoint Malam Tanimu Yakubu as the new Chairman of NNDC in view of his vast knowledge and wealth of experience.

0 comment

Related Posts